top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureStephen

State of play

It's now nearly a year since I decided to take what felt like a giant step and concentrate on writing to the (eventual) exclusion of all else. I could tell you that it's been a tumultuous journey, but that frankly would be a lie. Rather it's been a tale of discovery - what I can do, what works, what clients want and need. I've learned far more about search engine optimisation than I thought I would ever need, and there is much more to learn. I've found myself staring down the abyss of the bleeding edge of web design and marketing and that is a thrilling challenge. I have discovered that others can and will help when you need it, and I am grateful to them for everything.

I have managed to avoid the temptation to write extensively about writing - it has it's place but it's not for me, and I don't really think it's what you're interested in - I don't live in a garret feasting occasionally on old dog food and suffering for my art, unless you count the inevitable frustration of pieces that refuse to gel, or paragraphs that sit on the page laughing at my inability to get them to make sense and read properly.


Like any profession, writing is at times a challenge, but that's fine, if it was really easy we would all be doing it and I would be still fixing toy guns. It is rather something that I can take some pride in and, to my surprise, something I can sell to people without that horrible "I'm going to be found out feeling" that seems to afflict all of us at some point in our careers. It's a bit like finally finding where you should be; for me the intellectual equivalent of Berlin!


I have much to learn, but I'm learning, and I look forward to what tomorrow will bring. That's not a bad place to be.


S

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page